>Oh man today’s workout was a killer! It was the Shoulders and Arms work out with P90X and man Tony Horton is no joke! Yes I have decided to get back on the P90X train. I just love how intense it is, the techniques used in the weight training and honestly how it kicks my butt! I have done plenty of workouts where I get pretty sore but by the next day or two I’m fine. P90X leaves its mark on you for days and I love it! It sounds crazy I know but I think I’m one of those people that just love being sore, never thought something like that would ever come out of my mouth! Believe me when you start getting on the workout routine and you are at the level where you can do some intense work, you will love the soreness. It feels like a badge of honor, that it’s proof you have worked hard and you have the pain to prove it!

This isn’t my first time with P90X when I first started getting back to being active and taking care of myself this is one of the first workouts I had started with. People thought I was nuts and I thought I was nuts too! But I am an impatient person when it comes to things like that and I knew this workout would be the one to get me in gear fast! When I first started with P90x I thought I would never get through the first workout let alone continue using it! When I first got the package in the mail I had watched every DVD so I knew what I was getting myself into! Of course they make it look easy on every workout but I had no idea what I was getting myself into. I was excited and couldn’t wait to get started! So the first night after work I pop in the first DVD which is Chest and Back then you do Ab Ripper X afterwards. We get started with the warm up and stretch good first. So I thought cool I’ll pace myself and I can get this whipped! OMG was I ever wrong! First off I got too cocky and thought I could still do push ups on my feet. I haven’t been able to do those in years! So I sadly had to get on my knees and do the push ups to start. I am very competitive with myself and I wanted to go big right from the jump! But do what you can and what Tony always says “Do your best and forget the rest!” That is so true and I was living by those words! To make a long story short I was absolutely amazed how far I had come three months! I was doing 30 pushups every time I did Chest and Back, crushing the pull ups and feeling so strong! I loved every DVD and what it had to offer! The muscle confusion that you always hear about is so true! I was sore for so long after doing each DVD and that let me know that this workout is serious! This made me that much more excited to get healthy and really pay attention to the changes that were taking place in my body.
I had done other workouts like Hip Hop Abs, Turb Jam, Chalean Extreme and I love all of these! Chalean Extreme is no joke either! It’s weight training and not as many reps as P90X or as fast but slower. This sounds easy but it is not! That was so hard and what I got from Chalean Extreme was my forearm strength increased dramatically and my shoulders got incredibly strong! I loved how I felt from that too and my booty looked amazing! J/K but the results are awesome for sure! I had done this program for about 9 or 10 months and I was ready for a change. Not taking away from Chalean Extreme or any other workout but you do need to switch it up after a while and my body was telling me that it was time to make a switch again! I was still dong my cardio and by this time I had discovered Turbo Kick which is another brilliant workout done by Chalene Johnson. Man she knows how to keep you addicted to fitness! When someone is passionate about fitness or any other career that they are in it really shows so Chalene is in the career that God had put forth for her! I was really starting to miss weight training and really getting my butt kicked 🙂
So now I am back to P90X! I love it and I am sore as I was when I first started and I love it! Yesterday was Chest and Back and man after all those pullups my back is killing me! My arms are on fire and my abs are quivering! This may sound nuts but I am loving every minute of it! I have lost some of my arm strength that I had gotten from the first time around but after doing other workouts that helped me with my strength I know that will come back in no time! I have a new excitement for this program and I can keep up! That is the best part! The first time around I was practically crying and so mad because I couldn’t keep up with the people in the vids. I mean of course they are all in shape and have done the workouts before but I wanted to be like them after the first day! Of course you have to work up to that and the fact that you can do that in 90 days is nothing to sniff at for sure! I am glad to be back on the P90X game and I am going to be sharing this new journey with all of you. Now I am off to recover from this crazy day of shoulders and arms, eat some food and relax! I will be back tomorrow to share my latest yoga experience
Keep it happy, healthy and strong!
Erica
